The Michel du Cille Fellowship
The National Press Photographers Foundation (NPPF) is pleased to provide a $15,000 annual fellowship to honor the memory of Michel du Cille, a dedicated photojournalist who died while covering the Ebola crisis in Liberia. Our goal is to encourage photojournalists to cover topics of great importance in today’s changing world.

Michel’s photographs touched audiences in ways words alone never reach. They crossed boundaries of every kind and connected us to deeper truths.


Application Deadline – August  30, 11:59 p.m. EDT

Application Process

Michel du Cille and His Legacy



Bob and Millie Lynn announce the NPPF 2021 Bob Lynn Grant recipients


Veteran photojournalist Mary Calvert and photo student Nathan Posner are winners of this year’s Bob Lynn Grant, which promotes coverage of important social issues and under-reported stories.  Each will receive $4,000 to help fund their projects.


Bob Lynn Grant Recipients, Present & Past

About Bob Lynn


The Alan Hagman Grant
An $5,000 annual grant for photojournalists to facilitate a project on topics ranging from human rights to environmental issues. The Hagman Grant will support work on important stories that might otherwise go untold.

The grant is open to photojournalists and photojournalism students who are U.S. residents.

The Hagman Grant is named for the late Los Angeles Times photo editor who served as a mentor to many photojournalists throughout his career. Alan’s family and friends funded The Hagman Grant to support work reflecting Alan’s ideals and love of photojournalism.


Applications Now Closed


Application Process

About Alan Hagman

Read about these 2021 Scholarship Winners.

Twelve student photojournalists were named National Press Photographers Foundation scholarship winners in a year that drew a record number of entries. This diverse group, from all corners of the USA, represents the future of visual journalism. Each received a $2,000 check.

Sony and Fujifilm provide scholarship funds and cameras to recipients.  Saramonic, Litra, and ThinkTank supply “image-gathering kits,” including lighting equipment, microphones, and photo equipment bags.

Students who submitted a portfolio and did not receive a scholarship will receive a $100 check.  NPPF hopes this token of appreciation will help during a tough Covid year.

NPPF, a 501c3 organization dedicated to advancing photojournalism, proudly supports students on their path to becoming visual communicators. The scholarship program provides financial support, news gathering equipment and connects students to the photojournalism community.

Read about the scholarships.