About NPPF

The National Press Photographers Foundation Inc., a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization, is charged with advancing photojournalism through education and awarding scholarships and fellowships to deserving individuals who have demonstrated ability or promise in the field of visual journalism.
Click on the picture, name, title or organization to read bio.

Foundation Officers

C. Thomas Hardin

President
Retired – Detroit News and Louisville Courier Journal
hardin@aye.net

Mary Lou Foy

Vice President
Retired – Washington Post

Frank Folwell

Treasurer
Retired – USA TODAY and The Des Moines Register
ffolwell@nppf.org

Steve Sweitzer

Secretary
Owner
Sweitzer Productions
sweitzer@nppf.org

Board Members

James W. Brown, Ph.D.

Chair of NPPF Scholarship Competition
Professor and Executive Associate Dean Emeritus
Indiana University School of Journalism
jwbrown@nppf.org

Cathaleen Curtiss

Board Member
Director of Photography
The Buffalo News, Buffalo, NY
ccurtiss@nppf.org

Sandra Eisert

Board Member
Media Consultant &
Former Picture Editor/The White House
sandra.eisert@gmail.com

Noreen Figueroa

Board Member and Social Media Editor
Photo Editor
Scholastic Classroom Magazines
nlfigueroa@nppf.org

Larry Levin

Board Member
Owner
Larry Levin Photography
levin@nppf.org

Bill Luster

Board Member
Retired – The Louisville Courier-Journal
bluster@nppf.org

Michelle McLoughlin

Board Member
Owner
McLoughlin Photography
mmcloughlin@nppf.org

Randy Piland

Board Member and Website Developer
Senior Lecturer
Elon University
rpiland@nppf.org

Tara Pixley, Ph.D.

Board Member
Assistant Professor
Loyola Marymount University
tpixley@gmail.com

Bill Sanders

Board Member
Retired – Asheville Citizen-Times
wsanders@nppf.org

Martin Smith-Rodden, Ph.D.

Board Member
Assistant Professor
Ball State University
mdsmithrodde@nppf.org

Past Foundation Board Members

Michel du Cille

Secretary (deceased December 11, 2014)
The Washington Post

Donald Winslow

Board Member
Retired – Amarillo (TX) Globe-News