Dennis Spronck

The National Press Photographers Foundation is pleased to announce Dennis Spronck as the winner of the 2019 Yoder Award.

Spronck is a photojournalist at WSYX/ABC6 in Columbus, Ohio. The $1,000 award is given to working TV photojournalists or multimedia journalists wishing to attend the NPPA News Video Workshop in Norman, Oklahoma.

NPPA Sprague Award winner G. Gordon Yoder was a combat correspondent-photographer in Korea, and a network photojournalist covering news including the civil rights movement. He designed and manufactured the innovative 16mm Yoder Sound Camera that became the standard for TV stations and networks.

Spronck thinks the NPPA style of storytelling is a match for what he always wanted to do.

“Every day I love the challenge to turn a run of the mill story into a compelling product that I am proud of. I am very eager and motivated to learn new things and apply it in my day-to-day work,” Spronck said.